Researcher Directory

If you’d like to be included in the directory simply complete our Survey.

Benjamin Arbel
Tel Aviv University
arbel@tauex.tau.ac.il
Human attitudes to Animals, from Antiquity onwards

Jack Ashby
University Museum of Zoology, Cambridge
jda26@cam.ac.uk
@JackDAshby
Zoology Museums; Australian Mammals; Decolonising

Nelson Aprobato Filho
University of Sao Paulo
aprobatofilho@gmail.com
19th and 20th Century; Brazil; Latin America

Joan E. Cashin
Ohio State University
cashin.2@osu.edu
@JoanECashin
US Revolution – Civil War; Domestication; Wild Animals

Joanna Dean
Carleton University, Ottawa
joanna.dean@carleton.ca
@DeanJoanna 
Canadian; Vivisection; Horses

Alex Fitzpatrick
University of Bradford
animalarchaeology@gmail.com
@ArchaeologyFitz         
Later Prehistory; Zooarchaeology; Domestication

Andy Flack
University of Bristol
andrew.flack@bristol.ac.uk
@drandyflack
20th Century; Nocturnal Animals; Senses

Dibyajyoti Ghosh
University of Calcutta
ghosh.dibyajyoti@gmail.com
@dibyajyotigee
Early Modern England; Animals in Literature; India

Sunny Harrison
Open University             
sunny.harrison@open.ac.uk
Medieval; Health and Disease; Veterinary History

Barbora Hunčovská
Charles University, Prague
Barbora.Huncovska@ff.cuni.cz 
19th Century; Animals in War; Theory & Methodology

Marion Johnson
Independent researcher
listen@actrix.co.nz
Ethnoveterinary; Traditional Breeds; Farm Animals

John M. Kinder
Oklahoma State University
john.kinder@okstate.edu
@JMKinder
20th century; Zoos; War & Society

Cheryl Lancaster
Durham University
cheryl.lancaster@durham.ac.uk
@drclancaster
19th Century onward; Lab Animals; History of Biosciences

Elle Larsson
University of Westminster
E.larsson1@westminster.ac.uk
@Elle_Larsson
Natural History; Animal Trading; Zoo History

Max Long
Cambridge University
mel58@cam.ac.uk
@max_long
Mass Media; Zoos; Agriculture

James Lowe      
University of Edinburgh
j.w.e.lowe@hotmail.co.uk 
@jwelowe 
Genomics; Agriculture; Genetics

Garry Marvin
University of Roehampton
g.marvin@roehampton.ac.uk
Ritual; Performance; Hunting     

Felicity McWilliams
Birmingham Museums Trust
felicity.mcwilliams@gmail.com
@RedKite13
20th century; Technology; Horses

Kate Nichols
University of Birmingham
e.k.nichols@bham.ac.uk
@plaster_figleaf
19th century; Art History/Visual Culture; Empire

Catherine Oliver
University of Cambridge
CO419@cam.ac.uk
@katiecmoliver
Animals in exploration; Chickens; Urban animals

Lee Raye
The Open University
lee.raye@open.ac.uk
@leafyhistory
Medieval & Early Modern; Wildlife; Wild Plants

Harriet Ritvo
MIT
hnritvo@mit.edu
@HRitvo
18th century-present; Britain/Empire

Mieke Roscher
University of Kassel
roscher@uni-kassel.de
@DocRoscher
Modern history; Zoos; National Socialism

Kim Stallwood
kim@kimstallwood.com
@grumpyvegan
Animal Rights History; Animal Advocacy; Archives

William Strachan
University of Aberdeen
w.strachan@abdn.ac.uk           
Meat Inspection/Industry; Veterinary; Public Health

John Stokes
King’s College London
john.a.stokes@kcl.ac.uk
Animals in Literature; Animals in Art; Dog History

Ann Sylph
ZSL
ann.sylph@zsl.org
@ZSLLibrary & @ZooLibrariANN
Women and Zoology; Historic Sciart; ZSL history

Sarah Weir
University of Stirling      
s.a.weir@stir.ac.uk       
@sarahweir1  
20th century; Dogs; Spay/Neuter

Michael Worboys
CHSTM
University of Manchester
michael.worboys@manchester.ac.uk
Dog Breeds; Breeding; Diseases

Peter Yeandle
Loughborough University
p.yeandle@lboro.ac.uk
@peteryeandle
Zoo histories; Trade; Taxidermy

%d bloggers like this: